Illinois Vehicle Insurance here are the facts that you need in order to comply with the law.
Here are the minimum amounts of insurance you will need in order to be compliant.
$20k – death or injury of on person in accident
$40k – death or injury of more then on person in accident
$15k – damage to other party’s vehicle
At all the times you must and should carry your insurance renewal copy. Not having one while your driving is against state laws and you can be fined and your care can be towed. Also your driver’s license might be suspended.
There are two ways that the police department of Illinois and local government insure that you are in compliance.
The first way is if you are stopped for speeding or other infraction. The first thing the officer will ask is for your proof of licensees and registration. If you are not able to issue a copy of your insurance card you will be cited.
If you are convinced of not having Illinois Vehicle Insurance then you face the following fines
The minimum fine is $500 fine for driving uninsured
The minimum fine is $100 for driving a car or other vehicle while your previous insurance is suspended.